So Here’s the NLDS Umpires & Game 1/2 Start Times

I usually don’t like just spouting the same logistical information you could find in a dozen other places, but, well, this is all anyone cares about right now. With four days of no baseball, you take what you can get. What we have right now are game times for the first two games of the NLDS (the Dodger pitchers are not officially announced, but, come on) and the umpiring crew:

Game 1: Clayton Kershaw vs. Jacob deGrom
Friday, Oct. 9, 6:45pm PT / 9:45pm ET  (TBS)

Game 2: Zack Greinke vs. Noah Syndergaard
Saturday, Oct. 10, 6:07pm PT / 9:07pm ET (TBS)

Umpires:

HP: Alan Porter
1B: Jim Wolf
2B: Greg Gibson
3B: Greg Guccione
LF: Gary Cederstrom
RF: Chad Fairchild

Not a bad crew, really, full of guys I have largely no opinion about, and the less you know about any particular umpire, the better he tends to be.

And while it’s accurate to say “four days off” when it comes to the Dodgers, it’s really only today that’s baseball-free. Tomorrow night will have Dallas Keuchel and the Astros in New York against Masahiro Tanaka and the Yankees, which is a nice appetizer for Wednesday’s incredible Jake Arrieta/Gerrit Cole match-up. Then the ALDS kicks off on Thursday, before we get a full slate of four games on Friday. By the time this one gets started, some teams could be up or down 2-0, actually.

About Mike Petriello

Mike Petriello
Mike writes about lots of baseball in lots of places, and right now that place is MLB.com.