Brewers 7, Dodgers 0: Big inning, poor offense costs Brock Stewart in his debut

The debut of Brock Stewart didn’t go quite as planned, as the Dodgers fell to the Brewers tonight, 7-0. However, while Stewart didn’t exactly do well, he did do better than the line suggested and it wouldn’t have mattered much anyway given how the offense performed.

Stewart went five innings, with four of them being shutout frames, striking out seven batters and walking only two (one intentional). However, the other inning was a five-run outburst, consisting of both walks and five of the eight hits he allowed. In a lot of ways Stewart was unlucky to have been in that situation after getting in on the hands of two consecutive hitters with one down that could’ve easily given him a 1-2-3 second frame, but instead both went for hits and the big inning was on. Impressive was the way he bounced back from the rough inning and still got his team through five, and his stuff looked basically as expected. If it’s necessary, I wouldn’t be opposed to seeing him for another start.

In relief of Stewart, J.P. Howell pitched a scoreless inning, but Chris Hatcher gave up two runs in his two innings of work. Not that it mattered, really.

This is the point of the recap where I would show you Dodgers highlights, but … uh … there are none? The offense totaled two hits and two walks on the evening and were completely useless all game. The only upside is that it makes the aforementioned big second inning that was setup by bloops less painful to accept.

—–

With the loss, the Dodgers fall to 43-37 overall and drop to 20-22 away from home, which means they won’t get their away record back to .500 on this road trip.

The Dodgers and Brewers play the rubber match of the series tomorrow afternoon at 8:10 AM HST/11:10 AM PST/2:10 PM EST, with Kenta Maeda matching up against Kyle Davies.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times