Rockies 7, Dodgers 0: Offensive Slump Continues Unabated

The Dodgers lost to the Rockies in the first game of the doubleheader, 7-0, because their lineup against lefties is absolute trash and continued to play like even worse trash than even I had anticipated.

Just so bad.

Ross Stripling looked, well, basically like the back-end starter he projects to be. He was lucky to surrender only three runs on nine hits (four doubles) and a walk, getting two double plays to end threats. Stripling did manage to go six innings on just 86 pitches, but struck out only two and allowing a ton of contact at Coors Field generally doesn’t go well.

Casey Fien continued to be a dinger machine, giving up a solo shot to a guy I’ve never heard of before in his inning of work. J.P. Howell then poured gasoline on the fire, giving up three runs and four hits in his inning of work.

—–

As has been the trend recently, though, it didn’t matter much because the offense was shit. The Dodgers got six hits (one double) and two walks, but their performance with RISP was terrible.

The Dodgers had seven strikeouts and four of them came with RISP, which leads to being 0-for-7 in such situations.

—–

The Dodgers loss drops them to 73-59 overall and an increasingly pathetic 31-33 on the road. The Giants are currently playing, so the lead the NL West is down to 1.5 games at the moment.

Of course, the Dodgers start the second game of the doubleheader against the Rockies at 2:10 PM HST/5:10 PM PST/8:10 PM EST, with the pitching matchup (probably) being Rich Hill (2.09 ERA/2.48 FIP/2.94 DRA Overall, 2.25 ERA/2.51 FIP Dodgers) against Jeff Hoffman (8.10 ERA/7.58 FIP/5.70 DRA).

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times