Rockies 10, Dodgers 7: When you score 7 unanswered runs & lose

Photo: Stacie Wheeler

Billed as a clash between the two hottest teams in baseball, with the Dodgers winning five straight and the Rockies winners of four in a row, only one team ended up doing their part as the Rockies trounced the Dodgers 10-7 in a game that wasn’t that close for most of it.

Hyun-Jin Ryu gutted out 101 pitches to give the Dodgers four innings, and despite half of the 10 (!) runs he allowed being unearned, it’s hard to say it wasn’t all that deserved when you walk six batters and allow eight hits. It’s hard to make any sweeping judgments based on a Satan Field start, but boy one has to hope he bounces back and quick.

Josh Fields, Chris Hatcher, and Grant Dayton followed by throwing four shutout innings, allowing just four hits and striking out five. That allowed the game to be as close as it ended up.

And the Dodgers did have the tying run at the plate in the ninth, but it was too little too late.

It went pretty good offensively, with seven runs on 14 hits and five walks, seven of the hits going for extra bases. However, all of the damage came after they were already down 10 runs, so it’s hard to look at that and be encouraged like the Rockies were giving it their best the whole time or something. They forced the Rockies to use their closer, though, which was cool.

At least nobody got hurt, I think.

——

The Dodgers drop to 20-15 with the loss and are now 7-9 away from home, which is less than ideal. Tevs, new day tomorrow.

The good news is that the Dodgers have Clayton Kershaw (2.40 ERA/3.25 FIP/2.34 DRA) going up against Tyler Chatwood (4.74 ERA/5.62 FIP/4.18 DRA), though of course CK didn’t exactly have it working during his last start here. Either way, the game will be at 2:40 PM HST/5:40 PM PST/8:40 PM EST.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
I get paid millions by the Dodgers. MILLIONS!