Brewers 5, Dodgers 0: Ryu quite good in return … except when facing that Yelich guy

Riding a six-game winning streak into today’s contest, the Dodgers were hoping to take a four-game series against the Brewers with a win today, but were instead shutout and beaten by the long-ball in a 5-0 defeat.

——

Hyun-Jin Ryu made his return to the mound after spending a stint on the IL with a groin issue. Thankfully he didn’t miss a beat, striking out nine over 5.2 innings, allowing just four hits and a walk … aside from the two home runs from Christian Yelich, who is just ridiculous.

So yeah, aside from Yelich, Ryu looked like his normal self and even dominant at times.

In relief of Ryu, Dylan Floro got two outs before giving way to Caleb Ferguson, who got two outs but not before giving up a bloop double, an intentional walk to Yelich, and a three-run missile to Ryan Braun to blow the game open at 5-0.

Yimi Garcia finished things up for the Dodgers in the 8th with a 1-2-3 frame that included a strikeout.

——

On the other side of things, Chase Anderson was sent to the hill in what was supposed to be a bit of a pen game for them, but he ended up going five scoreless frames, allowing just one hit and two walks.

The Dodgers got a grand total of three plate appearance with a runner in scoring position against Anderson and the Brewers pen (and one of them thanks to defensive indifference), managing just two hits and five walks total in the shutout.

——

The Dodgers fall to 14-9 and will go for the series victory against the Brewers again tomorrow at 8:10 AM HST/11:10 AM PST/2:10 PM EST, with Clayton Kershaw on the bump against Brandon Woodruff. It should be a good test for Kershaw after he got a bit of a warm-up against the Reds in his season debut.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times