Nationals 6, Dodgers 0: Patrick Corbin limits Dodgers to three hits

A.J. Pollock looking like his arm was amputated.

Coming off a sweep of the Braves and now facing a scuffling Nationals team, the Dodgers looked in prime shape to continue their winning streak, but they ran into prime Patrick Corbin in a 6-0 loss.

——

Rich Hill started for the Dodgers and allowed a three-run homer to Howie Kendrick in the 1st. And that was about it for the game, honestly. Hill rebounded and allowed only four other hits and two walks while striking out five over five innings, but the three runs were more than enough tonight.

Yimi Garcia continued his run of quality in relief, pitching two scoreless innings and striking out a batter while surrendering only a hit. He has not allowed a run since April 11.

Dylan Floro took over and gave up two more runs, but both were unearned thanks to a Justin Turner error that started the inning. Joe Kelly finished the game, allowing an unearned run of his own, but the error was also his own.

——

As mentioned in the title, Corbin limited the Dodgers to just three hits and four walks over seven innings, allowing no runs and striking out eight. He essentially put the game on ice.

Kyle Barraclough and Sean Doolittle combined on two shutout innings to end the game.

Yup.

——

The Dodgers fall to 25-15 with the loss (101-win pace) and now hold a lead of 2 games in the NL West over the Diamondbacks. They will look to rebound tomorrow at 4:10 PM HST/7:10 PM PST/10:10 PM EST with Kenta Maeda still looking to find his stride, and he’ll be facing off against Anibal Sanchez who I didn’t know was still in the majors.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times