Reds 4, Dodgers 0: Buehler victimized by 3-run error, bats go quiet

The Dodgers had their four-game winning streak snapped against the Reds this afternoon as the latter cruised to a 4-0 win over the former to even the series at one a piece.

——

Walker Buehler took the mound for the Dodgers and continued to look like he turned the corner in May (1.80 ERA including today), which shouldn’t surprise many since he essentially missed Spring Training.

Buehler struck out seven and walked none in six innings, surrendering just six singles and a solo homer in the 2nd to Jesse Winker for his only earned run. However, he did surrender three unearned runs in the 3rd thanks to a Corey Seager error.

Back-to-back singles started the rally for the Reds in the 3rd, and one run scored after a Joey Votto grounder to short was thrown into right field. Buehler almost got out of the jam with a pop-up and a strikeout, but then allowed a bloop single from Yasiel Puig into center that scored two more.

Joe Kelly and Caleb Ferguson pitched scoreless frames in the 7th and 8th, the former issuing one walk and the latter with a 1-2-3 frame.

Fortunately, or unfortunately, the offense of the Dodgers made all of that a rather moot point. They managed just six singles and two walks off a combination of Tyler Mahle, David Hernandez, Amir Garrett, and Raisel Iglesias en route to being shutout.

——

The Dodgers fall to 30-17 with the loss, a 103-win pace, and their lead in the NL West is temporarily down to 4 games over the Diamondbacks.

The series rubber match will be played way too early at 7:10 AM HST/10:10 AM PST/1:10 PM EST with Hyun-Jin Ryu (LHP/1.72 ERA/2.73 FIP/2.12 DRA) facing Tanner Roark (RHP/3.50 ERA/3.32 FIP/5.05 DRA).

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times