D-backs 8, Dodgers 2: Everybody is rested for the Rockies

The Dodgers had enough of winning series and dropped the rubber match against the Diamondbacks by a score of 8-2.

Oh well.

The only reason I’m bothering to do a recap is because it was Tony Gonsolin‘s debut, and boy did I feel bad for him.

Eduardo Escobar then homered to clear the bases and make it 4-0 early. After getting that out of the way, he settled down to get out of the inning. Unfortunately, he then gave up another unearned run the next inning before finally giving up another earned run in the 4th, his last inning of work.

All in all, he surrendered six runs (four earned) on six hits, but walked none and struck out three.

The line was disastrous, but I honestly didn’t feel he pitched poorly. The story was more the poor defense and how he battled through it to provide four frames without melting down. God knows I would’ve melted down watching that defensive mess.

He also singled.

Aside from that, the only thing else that mattered on offense was Cody Bellinger dingering for the 26th time this year.

Also, Russell Martin pitched and got a strikeout along with a 1-2-3 inning on eight pitches.

The relief help is here, folks.

——

The Dodgers fell to 55-27 on the year with the loss. They are now 12 games up on the Rockies in the NL West, 6.5 games up on the Braves in the NL, and 1.5 games up on the Twins in the MLB.

They’ll now travel to Colorado for a four-game series against the Rockies starting at 2:40 PM HST/5:40 PM PST/8:40 PM EST with Walker Buehler (RHP/2.96 ERA/2.89 FIP/2.50 DRA) against Peter Lambert (RHP/5.85 ERA/4.45 FIP/3.59 DRA).

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times