Dodgers 4, Padres 1: Walker Buehler stellar in complete game with 15 strikeouts

The Dodgers took the third game of the series against the Padres as the offense actually looked alive, but mainly because Walker Buehler turned in an absolute gem in a 4-1 victory.

——

Cal Quantrill gave up just a double to the Dodgers in the first 3 innings, but Justin Turner changed things in the 4th with a homer, and suddenly he has 17 on the year.

Then in the 5th, things got messy for the Padres. A Will Smith double and Alex Verdugo single put runners at the corners, and Matt Beaty hit a grounder and beat out a double-play try to plate a run and make it 2-0. Runners were at the corners again after Buehler sacrificed and Eric Hosmer threw the ball into center trying to get the lead runner. The Dodgers made them pay after Max Muncy and JT had back-to-back singles to make it 4-0.

Buehler was outstanding. Not only was he effective, but he was dominant. He struck out 15 batters in a complete game, walking none, inducing two double plays, and giving up just four singles … oh and an 8th inning homer. Oopsie.

Decent company.

——

The Dodgers are now 73-40, which is good.

Kenta Maeda will face Chris Paddack tomorrow afternoon at 10:10 AM HST/1:10 PM PST/4:10 PM EST.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times