Yankees 10, Dodgers 2: Hyun-Jin Ryu shelled in blowout loss

The Dodgers and Yankees series is being billed as a potential World Series preview, with the atmosphere at Dodger Stadium promising to be playoff-esque.

Well thank god it wasn’t the actual World Series as the Dodgers got absolutely pummeled by the Yankees in an 10-2 loss.

——

Hyun-Jin Ryu started for the Dodgers coming off an outing where he actually surrendered four runs, and he was rewarded by getting to face the powerful Yankees.

Ryu had a disaster start, surrendering seven runs and three homers in the outing. He struck out seven over 4.1 innings, but the nine hits and a walk certainly weren’t great.

The big blow came in the 5th when Didi Gregorius slammed a grand dong.

Adam Kolarek gave up Ryu’s lone inherited runner with a double, but he then got a strikeout to get out of the inning. Yimi Garcia followed and did his thing, notching a strikeout but also giving up a homer. The surprising thing? He actually gave up a single as well.

Meanwhile, Caleb Ferguson continued his march back to relevancy in the 7th, getting a scoreless frame with a strikeout. Unfortunately, Casey Sadler gave up a run on two hits in the 8th. Nothing is sacred.

The offense? Well the offense managed just six hits and got no walks against 12 strikeouts versus James Paxton and the Yankees pen.

Not great!

——

I’m blaming this on the uniforms, which at least Enrique Hernandez tried to improve.

I’m dying.

lol

——

The Dodgers fall to 85-45 on the year with the loss.

The two teams will do it again tomorrow, though at an earlier weekend time at 10:05 AM HST/1:05 PM PST/4:05 PM EST on FS1. On paper it seems like a potential mismatch with rookie Tony Gonsolin making his fourth start against veteran CC Sabathia.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times