Yankees 5, Dodgers 1: They’ve lost the World Series again

After the Dodgers and Yankees split the first two games of the series, the rubber-match was all important since it determined the World Series outcome. Unfortunately, the Dodgers dropped it 5-1 and they’ve lost the final series of the year for the third consecutive season, this time to the Yankees.

Or something like that.

——

Clayton Kershaw started the game and unsurprisingly went at least six innings again, marking the 23rd time he’d done so in 23 tries this year. He also managed 12 strikeouts, a season high, and he walked none (one hit by pitch) while giving up only four hits.

The problem? Three of those hits were solo homers and that ended up being the difference.

On the other side of things, the offense struggled for about the fifth game in a row. Joc Pederson led things off for the Dodgers in the 1st with his 26th dong of the year.

Max Muncy then followed with a double and it looked like the Dodgers were in business. However, Justin Turner hit a pop-up in front of home plate that dropped but was ruled out for interference (a weak but probably correct call) and the offense basically stalled there.

Other than the 1st, they stranded runners in the 3rd, 4th, and 6th, but the main problem is that they had just five hits and three walks.

Oh right, Pedro Baez gave up two hits and a walk in the 8th, allowing a run. And Adam Kolarek also allowed a run, though unearned, on two hits and one wayward pick-off play.

Though none of it mattered, really, since … well, one run.

——

The Dodgers fall to 86-46 on the year with the loss.

They embark on a seven-game road trip now, stopping at San Diego first for three against the Padres. The game starts at 4:10 PM HST/7:10 PM PST/10:10 PM EST with Dustin May taking the ball as a starter for perhaps the last time this year against Eric Lauer.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times