Phillies 8, Dodgers 3: Julio Urias gets shelled, 4th straight loss

The Dodgers are really struggling now, dropping their fourth game in a row after getting somewhat blown out in a 8-3 loss to the Phillies.

======

Aside from his start in Coors Field to begin the year, Julio Urias has given up four runs all year. Well, today he gave up eight runs (five earned) on eight hits and a whopping four homers. Really the only good thing about the start was he didn’t walk anybody so he got through six innings on 75 pitches and the pen only had to get three frames.

Urias has given up 19 hits in his last two starts, which has seen his ERA rise from 1.88 to 3.00. The hits themselves are probably less concerning than the five homers the last two outings.

In relief of him, Reyes Moronta got two shutout innings and Garrett Cleavinger followed with one of his own to close it out. Mercifully.

The Dodgers have given up 29 runs in three games to the Phillies. Impressive.

——

Offensively … uh, Ranger Suarez gave up a Mookie Betts solo shot to lead-off the game and Cody Bellinger singled with the bases loaded in the 4th to score two more, but almost thankfully there was no rally today and thus less pain.

======

20-12 on the year, but the Padres lost so they’re still tied for the lead in the NL West.

The game will be earlier tomorrow at 10:10 AM HT/1:10 PM PT/4:10 PM ET with Michael Grove making his MLB debut in some capacity against Aaron Nola. Don’t get swept.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times