Royals 4, Dodgers 0: 12-game winning streak ends after shutout as Dodgers fail to sweep

The Dodgers could not complete the sweep of the Royals today, surprisingly getting shutout in a 4-0 loss, ending their 12-game winning streak.

Sky is falling.

======

The red-hot Dodgers offense was shut down by Brady Singer, the young Royals starter having a breakout year. With the bats rolling like they are, this is perhaps one of the best efforts of his career.

Singer really only struggled against Max Muncy (two walks) and Joey Gallo (a walk and HBP), allowing his lone hit to Chris Taylor in the 5th (a single). That was all the Dodgers got in six innings against Singer — who struck out seven — and they didn’t have many chances against him either, going just 0-for-4 with RISP.

Impressive.

For the Dodgers, Tyler Anderson was on the mound and wasn’t as sharp as we’re used to seeing. He got popped early in the game with a single and a double in the 1st to plate a run, and he was fortunate to only give up that many in the 3rd as well after he surrendered three singles and hit a batter.

It seemed like Anderson would limit the damage to just the pair of runs as he pitched into the 6th, but a lead-off double in the inning was cashed in by a single to make it 3-0 for the Royals when Anderson exited.

6 IP, 7 H, 3 R, 1 BB, 4 K, 93 Pitches

While Alex Vesia got a scoreless inning in the 7th, Craig Kimbrel could not do so in the 8th, giving up a homer to Vinnie Pasquantino to make it 4-0 and deepen his season issues.

Meanwhile, the Dodger bats could not get anything going against the Royals pen, who closed things out with three shutout.

======

79-34 on the year now.

TeamChaseGames
MetsMLB5 Up
MetsNL5 Up
PadresNL West16 Up

The Dodgers will go to Milwaukee next for a series against the Brewers, starting at 2:10 PM HT/5:10 PM PT/8:10 PM ET with Julio Urias facing Freddy Peralta.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times