Padres 7, Dodgers 1: First 3-game losing streak in 2.5 months

The Dodgers returned home tonight and were greeted by a Padres team fighting for their playoff spot. Well, the Dodgers played like a team without anything to play for in a 7-1 loss and have now dropped three games in a row.

======

Dustin May started after back-to-back quality outings against the Marlins, but three homers ruined his night today. He gave up a pair of two-run shots on the night and exited with two on in the 6th. Heath Hembree actually almost got out of it for him, but hung a pitch for a three-run homer before he was able to end the frame.

May’s line on the night basically tells the tale, unfortunately: 5 IP, 4 H, 6 R, 5 BB, 5 K, 87 Pitches.

Phil Bickford got two scoreless frames in the 7th and 8th, and Hanser Alberto got a scoreless 9th despite loading the bases.

On the other side was Yu Darvish, who shut the Dodgers down for seven innings. They had just two at-bats with RISP against him, so there’s not much to comment on, honestly.

The Padres pen closed things with a scoreless 8th before the shutout was broken in the 9th behind a Justin Turner double and Joey Gallo single for a 7-1 final.

======

90-41 on the year and 45-17 at Chavez Ravine.

TEAMCHASEGAMES
AstrosMLB5.5 Up
MetsNL6 Up
PadresNL West17 Up

The two teams do it again tomorrow at 3:10 PM HT/6:10 PM PT/9:10 PM ET with Julio Urias facing Sean Manaea.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times