D-backs 5, Dodgers 3: Walked off in extras on rest day

The Dodgers ran out their day-after-clinch lineup, which is nowhere near as fun now that September rosters aren’t 40 deep.

Things went to extras where the Dodgers took the lead, but a walk-off homer gave the Diamondbacks the 5-3 win to avoid the sweep. Oh well.

——

After Michael Grove put the Dodgers behind early by giving up a pair of solo homers, the lineup responded with two of their own in the 4th with Will Smith and Trayce Thompson going yard to tie things at 2-2.

Later, the D-backs tried to walk it off in the 9th with this wild play but failed.

Speaking of wild, that was how the Dodgers scored their run in extras.

Craig Kimbrel was one out away from a save, but gave up a walk-off three-run homer, his first hit allowed in almost a month. It came on a tough pitch.

I mean the walk was bad, but if they’re gonna hit this then you gotta give them credit.

======

98-44 on the year.

After an off day tomorrow, the Dodgers will travel to San Francisco for a series against the Giants. It’ll start at 4:15 PM HT/7:15 PM PT/10:15 PM ET on the dreaded Apple TV+ with Dustin May facing Logan Webb.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times