Giants 3, Dodgers 0: Ty Blach > Madison Bumgarner

The Giants beat the Dodgers this afternoon, 3-0, but honestly the most important thing is that Vin Scully is down to one game more. That sucks.

Normally I would write about how the hell the Dodgers got shutout by whatever a Ty Blach is, but I can’t even pretend to care. The offense got just three singles and a walk against him and so they lost, unsurprisingly.

Clayton Kershaw generally looked like himself, perhaps not getting the strikeouts he’s used to but generally cruising along. Kershaw threw an efficient seven innings, only throwing 82 pitches. Kershaw struck out four and gave up six hits and a walk, but only surrendered one earned run (a homer). Unfortunately, he did end up surrendering two unearned runs that scored after a deflection off Kershaw that Justin Turner threw away plated a run and then a sac fly plated another.

Most importantly, he did that Rich Hill thing with his arm angle again.

Not bad.

Kenley Jansen entered in the eighth, mainly to get work in, and he walked two and gave up a single to load the bases with only one down. Fortunately, Jansen turned it on again and struck out back-to-back batters to escape trouble.

Sergio Romo entered in the ninth to get the save and he set the side down in order to seal the win.

Oh well.

—–

The Dodgers loss drops them to 91-70 on the year and 38-42 away from home. The Nationals won anyway, so they will get home-field advantage in the NLDS.

The Dodgers cap off the series with the Giants, along with the season, tomorrow at 9:05 AM HST/12:05 PM PST/3:05 PM EST on SportsNet LA. The Dodgers send Kenta Maeda (3.28 ERA/3.62 FIP/3.44 DRA) to the mound, probably on a pitch count again, against Matt Moore (4.21 ERA/4.23 FIP/4.95 DRA Overall, 4.48 ERA/3.71 FIP Giants).

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times