Dodgers 3, Reds 2: Sweep makes it 4 in a row

(Via)

I didn’t have the recap today, yet here I am writing it. So in retaliation I would like to point out that in today’s Game Thread, big-time dumb-dumb Dustin Nosler suggested the Dodgers sit AJ Pollock against the Reds.

Let’s see how that worked out for him.

Every run came home on Pollock’s homer in the 6th en route to a 3-2 victory and a series sweep.

The offense was largely impotent all day, managing just three hits and two walks thanks to a great performance from Sonny Gray. But in the 6th, after following a lead-off walk with two strikeouts, the Reds opted to intentionally walk Cody Bellinger to face Pollock. Would I have done the same? Probably. But thank god they did because Pollock waited on a curve and smashed it for a three-run shot.

——

On the other end, Walker Buehler finally seemed to get on track. He threw 92 pitches over 6.1 innings, surrendering just one unearned run on three hits and a walk while striking out eight.

Scott Alexander then took over and did his job by getting an out, though a runner did score on the play after an Austin Barnes passed ball. Regardless, Pedro Baez got out of trouble and managed 1.1 scoreless with a strikeout as he continues to settle in.

Kenley Jansen a run again, but it wasn’t much to worry about. Enrique Hernandez botched a Yasiel Puig pop-up and he proceeded to steal second and advance to third on a Barnes throwing error. He scored on a Matt Kemp sacrifice fly, but that was it for the Reds as Kenley closed it out to secure the victory.

——

The Dodgers improve to 12-8 or .600 or a 97-win pace, and everything is swell again. However, they now travel to Milwaukee to play the Brewers, which figures to be a much stiffer test. Julio Urias will make his final start before heading back to the pen against Zach Davies at 2:00 PM HST/5:00 PM PST/8:00 PM EST.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times