Mariners 6, Dodgers 4: Julio Urias can’t get out of the 2nd & bats fail to claw back into it

The Dodgers and their seven-game winning streak came to an end tonight at the hands of the Mariners in a 6-4 loss.

While the Dodgers smacked homers, Julio Urias couldn’t even get through the 2nd inning and Dennis Santana gave up the big damage as the bats couldn’t get back into it.

——

Let’s start with the good news, the Dodgers homered three times off starter Taijuan Walker. Max Muncy and Joc Pederson both hit solo shots in the 2nd, while Cody Bellinger hit one of his own in the 3rd, so all three struggling lefties got long balls.

Of course, they led to just three runs.

That was a problem, as Urias struggled, striking out five batters on the night, but those were also all the outs he got. He gave up a run on four hits and a walk before being rescued in the 2nd by Santana.

Santana needed help of his own, however. He gave up four runs on three hits and two walks, including the go-ahead three-run dinger, while only getting two outs.

Dylan Floro was next and he continued to be a bright spot, shutting down the Mariners for 2.2 innings, surrendering just one hit and striking out two. Pedro Baez entered in the 6th trying to keep the Dodgers in it, but he gave up a solo shot to make it 6-3.

The Dodgers mounted a rally in the 7th with a Mookie Betts double and Justin Turner single to cut the lead to 6-4.

Victor Gonzalez was next in the 7th, and while he issued a walk he got a scoreless frame and then another in the 8th.

The Dodgers got a late rally going in the 9th thanks to an infield single and two walks, but Corey Seager struck out to end the game.

——

Hey, at least Keibert Ruiz did cool stuff.

Also, Dave Roberts and Muncy got ejected.

——

The Dodgers are now 18-8 on the year.

Clayton Kershaw will face Yusei Kikuchi tomorrow at 1:10 PM HST/4:10 PM PST/7:10 PM EST.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times