Giants 7, Dodgers 2: Walker Buehler exits with ‘right elbow discomfort’ … yeah

Much like their series against the White Sox, the Dodgers started off the Giants series with a loss in the opening game, dropping one 7-2 as Walker Buehler continued to struggle and the Dodgers continued to play sloppy.

======

Buehler actually seemed to have positive signs, striking out six and walking none, which is a relatively new thing this year. However, he also only lasted four innings and 70 pitches, giving up three runs on four hits as his ERA went up to 4.02.

That was an oddly short outing for him, especially with the constant prioritizing of saving the pen arms. And unfortunately, as it turns out, his exit was due to an injury.

But it was still within reach when he exited, at least until Justin Bruihl entered and gave up three runs on four hits and a walk (and an error by him) in just an inning of work.

After that, Phil Bickford got four outs and David Price got the remaining five outs, though he did give up a run, because of course he did.

——

On the other end, the Dodgers managed just two runs on six hits and a couple of walks. Both runs came off starter Jakob Junis, one on a Chris Taylor double that plated Justin Turner and then another on a solo shot by Gavin Lux.

Basically it.

——

Trea Turner flashing his D.

Blake Treinen is in San Francisco.

======

The Dodgers fall to 37-21 on the year, which seems fine on paper, but their lead in the NL West over the Padres is now down to 1 game.

Clayton Kershaw will return and start tomorrow against a Giants pen game at 1:15 PM HT/4:15 PM PT/7:15 PM ET on FOX.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times