Marlins 2, Dodgers 1: Sandy Alcantara barely escapes with his revenge

If the Marlins were going to win a game against the Dodgers this year it was likely going to be on the back of Sandy Alcantara, and that’s exactly what happened as he pitched a gem in a 2-1 victory over the Dodgers.

======

After a stellar season debut of five shutout innings, Dustin May returned today against the same team and was solid again. He gave up a run on a single, stolen base, and single in the 4th, then got unlucky in the 6th giving another up on back-to-back infield singles, and then a regular single. He didn’t get help from his defense, to say the least.

Not exactly great against a weak-hitting Marlins team, but fine for facing them a second time in a week: 6 IP, 5 H, 2 R, 1 BB, 4 K, 86 Pitches.

As for the pen, Caleb Ferguson and Phil Bickford finished things out for the Dodgers with two scoreless.

——

Of course, there was unfortunately only need to cover eight innings because Alcantara threw a complete game. Guess he only struggles at Dodger Stadium then.

It wasn’t a shutout, thanks to Mookie Betts remaining red-hot with 3rd inning solo shot, his 30th.

Other than that, the Dodgers didn’t have many threats against him. In the 2nd, they managed a double and a walk with two outs, but that was it until the 9th. That was when there was a real threat behind a one-out back-to-back singles, and then a two-out walk to load the bases. Joey Gallo then stepped up and crushed a change-up at 100 mph down to first, but a nice play by Lewin Diaz prevented a great comeback.

======

87-38 on the year and 42-22 on the road.

TEAMCHASEGAMES
AstrosMLB7* Up
MetsNL7* Up
PadresNL West19* Up

*Game in progress.

Tomorrow’s game is laughably at 6:05 AM HT/9:05 AM PT/12:05 PM ET on something called Peacock with Julio Urias against Edward Cabrera. Hopefully I’ll just completely sleep through it, to be honest.

About Chad Moriyama

"A highly rational Internet troll." - Los Angeles Times