Rockies 9, Dodgers 1: Apologies to the Brewers

The Dodgers fell to the Rockies tonight, 9-1, which doesn’t matter to the Dodgers but does to the Rockies and the Brewers (sorry).

——

Perhaps the most pressing issue at hand was Hyun-Jin Ryu‘s health after getting hit by a comebacker in his last start, and if this was his playoff audition (as I argued he should be the fourth starter), then it went extremely poorly. Ryu gave up five runs on a walk and six hits, including three homers, laboring through 68 pitches in just two innings. Less than ideal, though he did look fine in terms of health.

Speaking of failed auditions, Walker Buehler followed with two innings, but surrendered a two-run homer in his second frame. Then Tony Cingrani followed by giving up two runs of his own, only getting a single out.

It makes sense then, in this clusterfuck of a game, that Pedro Baez pitched 1.2 scoreless frames. Then the struggling Ross Stripling got a scoreless inning of his own, and so did Brock Stewart.

Offensively, the Dodgers were limp, getting just a run on five singles and two walks.

——

102 wins against 58 losses overall and 45 wins against 34 losses on the road. The Indians won, so the magic number for the best record in baseball is still 1, but honestly I’m ready for the playoffs.

Dodgers and Rockies do this again tomorrow at 2:10 PM HST/5:10 PM PST/8:10 PM EST, with Clayton Kershaw making an abbreviated start against German Marquez.

About Chad Moriyama

Chad Moriyama
I get paid millions by the Dodgers. MILLIONS!